Working With Games Students

Good morning everyone!

For my cross-discipline this trimester, I decided to work on a studio 3 mobile game project called ‘Served Cold’. Served Cold is a 2D puzzle game and is available for download on the google play store.

Here’s everything that I have created for Served Cold:

teleporter_sprite_sheetserved_cold_cup_spritesheet

So many tiles!! I had to create Autumn and Spring inspired tiles for the game, one character (animated through sprites) and a teleporter sprite sheet. I gotta say, the amount of times I had to save out variants of the same psd file was insane!

I’m very used to working on games projects and accustomed to their workflow. The workflow for this project was pretty basic, I wait to be told what assets are needed, I create them, and then I save them in various formats with succinct and well organised naming conventions. For this project, they needed everything to be provided as pngs, so that is what I did. However for posterity, I always provide the people I am creating content file with a ‘master file’, be is a psd, max file, aep file, etc.

Once my assets were completed, I was to upload them to a google drive folder dedicated to the project and inform my team mates of their completion via Slack. Though most communication for this project was done in person, Slack supported our communication whenever we were not on campus together, and google drive handled submission and version control.

I enjoyed working on this project and always have a tonne of fun working on games projects. I have to say, I find working on games discipline projects is ‘my thing’, and I am so, so thrilled that I get to do it all of next trimester.

Thanks for reading,

Che Hubbard.

Leave a comment